Dogtown Z-Bro!

11 Jul

Day 185

7/10/12

Hey Elle, the Bro is in skateboard camp this week. He doesn’t know how to ride a skateboard and he is one of the youngest in the class. I am amazed at how much he enjoys it. From 9-3pm, he and 25 other kids are in the blazing LA sun “ripping” up the Culver City skate park.  It’s only day two and he talks about how fast he goes and how many pushes he does before he glides. Yesterday it was two and today it’s six. I went early to pick him up today, hoping I could catch a glimpse of him in motion.  I got it.

To this 5 and half year old, he is going at Mach speed. I watched as he very carefully mounted his board, catching his balance and pushing off, what might have been two times, to get himself going. If he covered 2 feet in 20 seconds I’d be surprised. He would go back and forth, over and over, without a care in the world. But, the fact that in his mind he is ripping it up and passing all he peers is what makes me so proud. He is content enough with his efforts to keep at it and find gratification in the strides he’s making, as little and as slow as they may be. I watched other kids rip by him, circle him and stop to let him slowly pass by but, the Bro was in his world, hanging ten like a Dogtown Z-Boy, just in 2012. That’s my Boy!

So I say, go out and rip it up like the Bro…it’s not a sprint, it’s a marathon so enjoy the time! Your Erica, E-Out!

2 Responses to “Dogtown Z-Bro!”

  1. John J. Wall July 11, 2012 at 8:53 am #

    I was wondering if he would like it. That’s great to hear!

    • ericaawall July 11, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

      Yeah, we’re relieved he likes it too!

Leave a Reply

